Expressions/Scripts/Presets

Moderator: Paul Tuersley

 
User avatar
vfxman
Topic Author
Posts: 49
Joined: Fri Feb 23, 2007 7:00 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Solid Duration

Thu May 07, 2009 8:46 pm

This was something I put together to help out a co-worker. He was creating a long series of solids as backgrounds behind his keyed clips and having to trim them up as he went to match the duration of each shot in the timeline. So simply put, this script will allow you to select one or more layers and create a solid, choose the color and place it directly below the footage layer and it will trim the in and out points of the new solid to match the footage duration.

Also this script was created and used on Mac with AE CS4. I have no clue if it even works on PC, sorry.

Features:
- Dockable (or can be run from the scripts menu)
- Custom color for every solid created
- Places new solid directly underneath selected video layer
- Trims the in and out points to match selected video layer
- Names new solid the same as video layer plus the word "Backdrop"

What it DOES NOT do right now:
- Let you type a custom name
- Fit the video layer size (always same size as comp)
- Make your coffee :mrgreen:
- Solve the worlds problems :mrgreen:

Image
Attachments
SolidDuration_v1.jsx.zip
(2.08 KiB) Downloaded 769 times
Last edited by vfxman on Sat May 09, 2009 4:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.
--
David Torno
Visual Effects Artist & Supervisor
http://www.ghosttownmedia.com
—————————————————
http://www.sydefxink.com
http://aeioweyou.blogspot.com
http://mactex.blogspot.com
 
Yenaphe
Posts: 84
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 6:30 pm
Location: Paris - France
Contact:

Re: Solid Duration

Fri May 08, 2009 4:44 pm

Very nice David ! I was actually looking at creating a script to do the same thing :)
 
User avatar
vfxman
Topic Author
Posts: 49
Joined: Fri Feb 23, 2007 7:00 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Solid Duration

Fri May 08, 2009 9:18 pm

Very nice David ! I was actually looking at creating a script to do the same thing :)


Thanks Yenaphe and you're welcome, now you don't need to trouble shoot how to write it and you can start enjoying it. ;)
--
David Torno
Visual Effects Artist & Supervisor
http://www.ghosttownmedia.com
—————————————————
http://www.sydefxink.com
http://aeioweyou.blogspot.com
http://mactex.blogspot.com
 
mandaodex
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2007 7:53 am

Re: Solid Duration

Sat May 09, 2009 12:10 pm

Thanks. I'l test it
 
User avatar
vfxman
Topic Author
Posts: 49
Joined: Fri Feb 23, 2007 7:00 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Solid Duration

Sat May 09, 2009 12:23 pm

mandaodex wrote:
Thanks. I'l test it


Thanks, I'm assuming you have a windows machine? Just curious how the color picker part of the code will work or not work.
--
David Torno
Visual Effects Artist & Supervisor
http://www.ghosttownmedia.com
—————————————————
http://www.sydefxink.com
http://aeioweyou.blogspot.com
http://mactex.blogspot.com
 
Yenaphe
Posts: 84
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 6:30 pm
Location: Paris - France
Contact:

Re: Solid Duration

Sun May 10, 2009 9:40 am

vfxman wrote:
Thanks Yenaphe and you're welcome, now you don't need to trouble shoot how to write it and you can start enjoying it. ;)

I've spread the word (http://www.yenaphe.info/a-little-smart- ... r-effects/), so I won't be alone enjoying it ;)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests