fromWorld toWorld are confusing myWorld

Moderators: Disciple, zlovatt

Post Reply
byronnash
Posts: 321
Joined: July 7th, 2004, 2:30 pm
Location: Charlotte, NC
Contact:

Sorry for the lame pun there.

I need to track the position of a parented layer. The parent is scaling and it's throwing off my toWorld expression. How is this handled?

Code: Select all

p = thisComp.layer(index -1);
toWorld(p.anchorPoint)
I have the above expression on the position of the layer I need to move. The "p" layer is a parented object under a null.
Dan Ebberts
Posts: 320
Joined: June 26th, 2004, 10:01 am
Location: Folsom, CA
Contact:

I'm not in front of AE right now, but I think you'd need to do it like this:

p = thisComp.layer(index -1);
p.toWorld(p.anchorPoint)


Dan
byronnash
Posts: 321
Joined: July 7th, 2004, 2:30 pm
Location: Charlotte, NC
Contact:

Thanks for responding Dan, you seem to be about the only one in the world that understands the Layer Space transforms. I may have my expression targeting the wrong layer now. I need to play with it some and I'll post when I get it working.
Post Reply