Expressions/Scripts/Presets

Moderators: Disciple, zlovatt

 
User avatar
Disciple
Topic Author
Posts: 137
Joined: Sat Jun 05, 2004 8:05 am
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Contact:

Time remap expression for pulldown

Sat Jan 26, 2008 5:18 pm

Hello

I'm working on a deadline on a project that has a weird pulldown scheme that AE can't seem to detect. Would anybody have a remove pulldown expression handy that I could apply to my time-remap?

Thanks
Alex
 
Dan Ebberts
Posts: 318
Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 10:01 am
Location: Folsom, CA
Contact:

Re: Time remap expression for pulldown

Mon Jan 28, 2008 7:47 am

Sounds like an interesting challenge. What's the pattern of the pulldown?

Dan
 
User avatar
Disciple
Topic Author
Posts: 137
Joined: Sat Jun 05, 2004 8:05 am
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Contact:

Re: Time remap expression for pulldown

Mon Jan 28, 2008 9:27 am

It isn't uniform....I've got a couple of 60fps footage that was originally shot on film, digitized and then slowed down. They are now in HD, so no fields. It goes from
111211122111222112
to
12112122

and all flavors in between..I guess depending on how much the footage was slowed down. So pulldown is probably not the right word here, maybe rather intermediate frames?

Alex
 
Dan Ebberts
Posts: 318
Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 10:01 am
Location: Folsom, CA
Contact:

Re: Time remap expression for pulldown

Mon Jan 28, 2008 9:36 am

Yikes. I'd like to help but I don't know how you could auto-detect something like that.

Dan
 
User avatar
lloydalvarez
Enhancement master
Posts: 460
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2004 9:27 am
Location: New York City, NY
Contact:

Re: Time remap expression for pulldown

Mon Jan 28, 2008 12:24 pm

Hey Alex,

Do you have fields or duplicate frames? If you have duplicate frames what I did to solve it on a recent job was this:

Take the 59.94 footage with duplicate frames and put it in a new 23.976 (also try 23.98 if the first doesnt work) and you should have your original 24 fps footage without duplicate frames.

If you need to have 59.94 footage without duplicate frames then you'll need twixtor to create new inbetween frames for you. To do this turn on the "Preserve Frame Rate" option in the comp settings and drop this comp into a new 59.94 comp. Add twixtor and set the frame rate (in twixtor) to 23.976 (or 23.98) and you should have a 59.94 clip without any duplicate frames.

Of course this is assuming that the footage has not been retimed in any other way.

Hope helps (and makes sense!)

-Lloyd
 
User avatar
Disciple
Topic Author
Posts: 137
Joined: Sat Jun 05, 2004 8:05 am
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Contact:

Re: Time remap expression for pulldown

Mon Jan 28, 2008 12:42 pm

Yeah, the problem is that there seems to be some re-timing done in the footage...That is why the duplicate frames are not consistent clip to clip...
The reason I asked was because I am rotoscoping these clips and the duplicate frames just mean duplicate mask kf's. If I could get rid of them procedurally, I would be saving myself some time.

Alex
 
User avatar
lloydalvarez
Enhancement master
Posts: 460
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2004 9:27 am
Location: New York City, NY
Contact:

Re: Time remap expression for pulldown

Mon Jan 28, 2008 1:18 pm

I see. Well I had to solve this problem with my edit detector script so maybe I can modify it to remove duplicate frames instead of marking edits.. Let me look into it and I'll be back in touch..

-Lloyd
 
User avatar
lloydalvarez
Enhancement master
Posts: 460
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2004 9:27 am
Location: New York City, NY
Contact:

Re: Time remap expression for pulldown

Thu Feb 07, 2008 12:17 pm

You can get the Remove Duplicate Frames script from my blog:

http://aescripts.com/2008/02/05/duplicate-frame-remover/

-Lloyd
 
nab
Posts: 203
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2005 3:00 am
Location: Royan
Contact:

Re: Time remap expression for pulldown

Thu Feb 07, 2008 3:21 pm

For some reason I've always thought timeRemapEnabled was read-only.
I've checked on previous versions of the scripting guide and this attribute is actually read-write from the beginning of AE scripting :roll:
Thanks Lloyd.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests