Run an explorer windows from After effects

Find out why the . goes before the /

Moderator: Paul Tuersley

Post Reply
bkan
Posts: 51
Joined: November 6th, 2013, 8:33 am

Hello,
I try to run an explorer windows via after effects script. My script is based on this :
 
 var path = tabBtns_foldersSpecific_path[myNumber];
 
    if($.os.indexOf("Win") != -1){ 
    cmd = "explorer " + String(path);
     
    }else{ 
    cmd += (("open \"" + String(myGoodPath)) + "\"");          // change var path for Mac  
    } 
      alert(cmd);
    try { 
    system.callSystem(cmd); 
    }catch (e){ 
    alert(e); 
    } 
 
My « path » variable returns  :“/e/RESSOURCES “
This variable is defined with this command :
Var myFolderPath = Folder.selectDialog();
Path = String(myFolderPath);
 
But After effects does not open the correct folder (it opens the default one : “Documents”).
I tried to do it manually, and what is working is : “e:\\ RESSOURCES “
 
It seems that the good string is with 2 backslashes (“\\”).
Any idea of a solution?
Thank you!
runegan
Posts: 22
Joined: November 4th, 2016, 3:18 pm
Contact:

This is what I usually use, It should work on both windows and mac:

Code: Select all

function revealFile(filePath) {
	if ( filePath instanceof File ) {
		filePath = filePath.fsName;
	}

	var command = "open -R";
	if ($.os.indexOf("Win") != -1) {
		command = "Explorer /select,";
	}
	arg = "\"" + filePath + "\"";
	return system.callSystem(command + " " + arg);
}
bkan
Posts: 51
Joined: November 6th, 2013, 8:33 am

Hello,
Thank you for your answer. Have you got an example of a string you put in your "filePath" variable?
Thank you!
runegan
Posts: 22
Joined: November 4th, 2016, 3:18 pm
Contact:

I usually just use a File object, which will be converted to string by this code:

Code: Select all

   if ( filePath instanceof File ) {
      filePath = filePath.fsName;
   }
Or strings that are created by accessing file.fsName somewhere else in the code.
bkan
Posts: 51
Joined: November 6th, 2013, 8:33 am

OK, thank you!
Just another precision : if my string is : ""/e/RESSOURCES/SONS/CARTOONS"", the explorer windows open "/e/RESSOURCES" and select the "CARTOONS" folder instead of going into this folder....!
runegan
Posts: 22
Joined: November 4th, 2016, 3:18 pm
Contact:

I don't work on a windows machine, but after searching a bit it seems that you will get the desired result by removing "/select,".
bkan
Posts: 51
Joined: November 6th, 2013, 8:33 am

Oh!! Thanks a lot, it is working!!
beginUndoGroup
Posts: 81
Joined: November 27th, 2012, 6:41 am

For folders, you can simply do:

myFolderObj.execute();

For files, .execute() also exists, but it will do something different (open the file with the default application registered for that type of file).

Xavier
Post Reply