Multiple Comps to FLV

What type of scripts do you need?

Moderator: byronnash

Post Reply
Grfx
Posts: 2
Joined: April 12th, 2007, 9:17 am
Location: colorado
Contact:

Need a script(Maybe) so I can export multiple comps to FLV. Right now if I select multiple comps the export to flv gets greyed out
byronnash
Posts: 321
Joined: July 7th, 2004, 2:30 pm
Location: Charlotte, NC
Contact:

There isn't a way to use the Export menu through scripting. You may be able to do something with the undocumented

Code: Select all

app.executeCommand(app.findMenuCommandId("insert a menu command here"));
mulitcereal
Posts: 3
Joined: April 17th, 2007, 3:14 am

i'm looking for the same thing. i have made this script which i believe should work. but it breaks due to the flv settings window. is there a way to get past this?

Code: Select all

var aComps = new Array();
var n = app.project.numItems;

for(i=1;i<n;i++){
  var myItem = app.project.item(i);
  // find all compositions	
  if(myItem.typeName == "Composition"){
    aComps.push(myItem);
  }
  // deselect all items
  myItem.selected = false;
}

// loop through compositions
for(i=0;i<aComps.length;i++){
  // select and export
  aComps[i].selected = true;
  app.executeCommand(app.findMenuCommandId("Flash Video (FLV)..."));
  aComps[i].selected = false;
}
byronnash
Posts: 321
Joined: July 7th, 2004, 2:30 pm
Location: Charlotte, NC
Contact:

As far as I know, there is no way for a script to wait for the user to click on something. Maybe you could have a palette that exports the comps one at a time? You could start with all the comps you want to export selected and have the script export and deselect the last comp in the selection. Then you could keep clicking on the button to export the comps. It's not the most elegant solution, but it may be quicker than doing it all manually.
mulitcereal
Posts: 3
Joined: April 17th, 2007, 3:14 am

i'll do some more research on this.
do you know if flv export is supported in the render queue in CS3?
byronnash
Posts: 321
Joined: July 7th, 2004, 2:30 pm
Location: Charlotte, NC
Contact:

I'm not sure, but I should have my CS3 beta up and running today hopefully.
mulitcereal
Posts: 3
Joined: April 17th, 2007, 3:14 am

i just checked the CS3 features, apparently it's supported:

http://www.adobe.com/products/aftereffects/features/
Grfx
Posts: 2
Joined: April 12th, 2007, 9:17 am
Location: colorado
Contact:

Just got back form NAB and yes, FLV output will be supported in the render Que with CS3...Somewhat of a moot point now that flash is included in the bundle...But good news none the less :)
Post Reply