Page 2 of 3

Re: Quick effects palette

Posted: April 6th, 2010, 8:06 am
by Dan Ebberts
hype wrote: Unfortunately, the palette grabs the Pete's plugin one, not the AE one. Any ideas on how I can get it to differentiate?
You could use the match name for AE's glow which is "ADBE Glo2".

Dan

Re: Quick effects palette

Posted: April 7th, 2010, 8:03 pm
by hype
Awesome, Dan, thanks! That worked perfectly!

Re: Quick effects palette

Posted: April 10th, 2010, 3:35 pm
by buck50
Hey all. New to scripting. I love the idea of the script here but I am having some trouble. When I run the script nothing happens. Is there something that I should be doing first? If anyone could help I would appreciate it. Thanks for all of your hard work.

Re: Quick effects palette

Posted: April 11th, 2010, 7:29 am
by cfx
Hi,

It's a script with "UI palette"... :idea:
- You have to copy the script file in the "ScriptUI Panels" folder (on windows : C:\Program Files (x86)\Adobe\Adobe After Effects CS4\Support Files\Scripts\ScriptUI Panels)
- you launch the script in the window menu...
Image

et voila !
:D
Fred

Re: Quick effects palette

Posted: April 12th, 2010, 2:56 am
by storaro
Hi Thanks allot.
as a Fusion user i'v been waiting long time for this utill!

Im trying to make use of this panel to lunch scripts as well but without any luck yet.
Is there any additional code needed for lunching up AE scripts?
Think that will make it a perfect tool.

Thanks again.
-Storaro.

Re: Quick effects palette

Posted: April 17th, 2010, 3:48 am
by buck50
cfx wrote:Hi,

It's a script with "UI palette"... :idea:
- You have to copy the script file in the "ScriptUI Panels" folder (on windows : C:\Program Files (x86)\Adobe\Adobe After Effects CS4\Support Files\Scripts\ScriptUI Panels)
- you launch the script in the window menu...
Image

et voila !
:D
Fred
Thanks. I had copied it to the Scripts folder but not the ScriptUIPanels folder. It works perfectly now. Can't thank you enough.

Re: Quick effects palette

Posted: April 29th, 2010, 8:57 am
by manohar
Hey thnk u..,
i changed StaticText to all lower case.. in the script and it is working perfectly...
Nice script ...,and nice idea to create this script.. I am using it...




http://myaescripts.blogspot.com/

Re: Quick effects palette

Posted: May 5th, 2010, 8:25 am
by manohar
Hi there...,
I modified this script to match my regular workflow...
my modifications are..
1. Added Help Tips to all the buttons..
2. Added a 'Drop Down List' to use more effects other than buttons..

here is the look of UI...
Image

Re: Quick effects palette

Posted: May 5th, 2010, 12:02 pm
by cfx
Excellent job ! :D
I like it 8) 8) 8)

Re: Quick effects palette

Posted: May 6th, 2010, 1:50 am
by manohar
hey.. thanx...
You said that you will try to customize this script later,
with which one can load the list of effects in a preference text...
how that UI look like.., :roll: tell me what that customized UI will contain and I will try to make it ... :) :)

Re: Quick effects palette

Posted: May 25th, 2010, 3:53 pm
by slawes
This is a super handy script.
Thanks so much.

Anyone know how to get the specific names to each effect ? I am trying to apply Frischluft Depth of Field, but I can't seem to find the call name for it. Are they stored in a specific location ?

Many thanks,
Stephen

Re: Quick effects palette

Posted: June 8th, 2010, 8:58 am
by Fred Vianna
Is possible to create a palete, not with effects or presets, but wit basic functions, like
create a new solid, create a null, controling the camera ( in the AE, to move
the camera, you need all the time to click in the button of camera
movements, open the tree options, and spending time and time, blá, blá, blá ...
Is possible to transform all these actions in buttons like the
palete you create ?

Have an example ?

Thanks ... Fred Vianna

Re: Quick effects palette

Posted: June 8th, 2010, 10:01 am
by cfx
Of course... Yes, it's possible ! :mrgreen:

For example :
This function create new solid for the active comp...
You have to "connect" this function to a button ( the v1 of my script is a good example...)

Code: Select all

function NewSolid(){
	app.beginUndoGroup("New Solid");
    var comp = app.project.activeItem;
    var new_solid = comp.layers.addSolid([.5,.5,.5], "Quick Solid", comp.width,comp.height,comp.pixelAspect,comp.duration); 
    app.endUndoGroup();
}
almost all after effects is accessible with script... :wink:
Now you have to read after effects scripting guide http://www.adobe.com/products/aftereffe ... _guide.pdf

There is lots of example here...

8)

Cfx

Re: Quick effects palette

Posted: June 9th, 2010, 4:20 am
by Simma
This looks really cool. Would it be possible to create a button that makes a adjustment layer and then makes that a guide layer? This would come in handy when working with LUTs. Maybe it's even possible for a button to create an adjustment layer, make it a guide layer, and then add an animation preset to that layer? That would be fantastic!

Re: Quick effects palette

Posted: June 9th, 2010, 5:12 am
by cfx
All is possible... 8)

Code: Select all

function LutGuide(){
	app.beginUndoGroup("Quick LUT");
    var comp = app.project.activeItem;
    var new_solid = comp.layers.addSolid([.5,.5,.5], "Quick LUT", comp.width,comp.height,comp.pixelAspect,comp.duration); // add solid in  comp
    comp.layer(1).guideLayer=true;
    comp.layer(1).adjustmentLayer=true;
    var myPreset = File("C:/Program Files (x86)/Adobe/Adobe After Effects CS4/Support Files/Presets/Image - Utilities/Levels - video to computer.ffx");
    comp.layer(1).applyPreset(myPreset);
    app.endUndoGroup();
}
:D
Now --> http://www.adobe.com/products/aftereffe ... _guide.pdf