Page 1 of 1

(Comp) Start Frame question

Posted: September 9th, 2010, 10:28 am
by nab
Not directly related to scripting, but...

In CS4, I can manually set the Start Frame (in the comp settings) to any non-negative number I choose to start counting from (as specified in the Doc).
In CS5, I cannot set the Start Frame to 0 ! (any attempt to do so will reset the value to 1). This problem doesn't occur when you are in "Timecode mode".

Am I missing something here, or is it a bug ?

Re: (Comp) Start Frame question

Posted: September 10th, 2010, 3:34 am
by Paul Tuersley
You mean like this?

Code: Select all

{ 
	var activeItem = app.project.activeItem;	
	if (activeItem != null && activeItem instanceof CompItem) {	
		alert(activeItem.displayStartTime);	
		activeItem.displayStartTime = 0;	
		alert(activeItem.displayStartTime);	
	}
}
Seems to work for me.
My guess is that your Project Settings: Start numbering frames at: == 1.

Oops I see you weren't talking about scripting. But anyway, you can't set the comp display start frame earlier than the project setting in CS4 either.

Re: (Comp) Start Frame question

Posted: September 10th, 2010, 8:28 pm
by nab
Thanks a lot Paul, problem solved !
Indeed, "Start numbering frames at" in the project settings was set to 1. Sometimes all these settings everywhere drive me nuts :)