free for you! movie barcode generator

Find out why the . goes before the /

Moderator: Paul Tuersley

Post Reply
cdinic
Posts: 12
Joined: May 5th, 2008, 4:24 pm

Hey guys. I made a quick movie barcode generator to make these:
http://moviebarcode.tumblr.com/

It isn't very elegant and needs to handle large video formats, but it works! If you make any improvements please post back here so I can include them.
http://dinicolas.tumblr.com/post/405059 ... er-effects

best,
-Chris
User avatar
lloydalvarez
Enhancement master
Posts: 460
Joined: June 17th, 2004, 9:27 am
Location: New York City, NY
Contact:

Those are some really cool looking results. Is the script available somewhere?

-Lloyd
philspitler
Posts: 39
Joined: November 2nd, 2005, 10:20 am
Contact:

I did the same thing using expressions.

I used the sampleImage command to tint a single pixel solid that was duplicated 2000 times.

It takes a long time to process so I actually sequenced the layers to see the barcode build up.

LLoyd, I'll email you the project.

Phil
Dan Ebberts
Posts: 320
Joined: June 26th, 2004, 10:01 am
Location: Folsom, CA
Contact:

This seems like it might be a good job for Pixel Bender. Here's a simple one-pixel slice with a control to let you set the y position for the sample:

Code: Select all

<languageVersion : 1.0;>
kernel BarCode
<   displayname : "Bar Code";
    category : "Pixel Bender Effects";
    namespace : "AfterEffects";
    vendor : "Dan Ebberts";
    version : 1;
    description : "Create bar code from image";
>

{
    input image4 src;
    output pixel4 dst;

    parameter float2 center
    <
        aeDisplayName: "Center";
        aePointRelativeDefaultValue: float2(0.5,0.5);
        aeUIControl: "aePoint";
        parameterType: "position";
        defaultValue: float2(200.0,200.0);
    >;

    void
    evaluatePixel()
    {
        float2 p = outCoord();
        dst = sample(src,float2(p.x, center.y));
    }
}
Just save it as a .pbk and drop it into AE's Plug-ins folder.

Dan
becofuan
Posts: 2
Joined: December 29th, 2014, 2:00 am

Hi, cdinic
Thank you for sharing the movie barcode generator. I scan the barcodes with my phone camero, but they cannot be recognized. How do you scan it? Or this issue is caused by the barcode images are too large and is not clear when the camera captures the whole barcode image?
Post Reply