Page 1 of 1
add a comp to a comp?
Posted: May 22nd, 2009, 9:17 am
by peteoconnell
Hi, I am not sure if this is a really obvious one but what I am trying to do is place a comp within another comp. In the AE interface this would be that same as dropping a comp onto the comp icon at the bottom of the project panel.
Thanks
Pete
Re: add a comp to a comp?
Posted: May 23rd, 2009, 4:11 am
by Paul Tuersley
Here's an example that finds the first selected comp in the project panel, creates a new comp with the same settings, and drops the original comp into it.
Code: Select all
{
for (x=1; x <= app.project.items.length; x++) {
if (app.project.item(x) instanceof CompItem && app.project.item(x).selected == true) {
origComp = app.project.item(x);
newComp = app.project.items.addComp(origComp.name + "*", origComp.width, origComp.height, origComp.pixelAspect, origComp.duration, origComp.frameRate);
newComp.layers.add(origComp);
break;
}
}
}
Re: add a comp to a comp?
Posted: May 23rd, 2009, 9:54 am
by peteoconnell
Thanks, that's a pretty efficient way of doing it.
Much obliged
Pete