Page 1 of 1

Lock property script

Posted: October 4th, 2006, 3:36 pm
by scribling
This script would read the settings of property selected, copy them and paste them into an expression, therefore locking the poperty.

If position is 960,540 the expression written would simply be [960,540]

Ideally this would be a pallet with options to lock all or selected properties.

Posted: October 7th, 2006, 1:02 am
by nab
Hello scribling,

try this (big) one :
requires AE7.0 http://www.nabscripts.com/Forum/Scripts ... erties.jsx

how it's supposed to work:
(palette' s options)
-lock selected props only
-lock selected layers props
-lock all props in comp
-unlock (remove expression) selected props

you can find other details in the "?" help button.

hope this helps (also helpful to me :D)

That's it!

Posted: October 11th, 2006, 11:59 am
by scribling
That's totally cool! I just hate when I'm working away and somehow a layer gets shifted or I accidentally hit + or - and rotate a layer. This prevents all of that and let's me work without having to be all gingerly. Especially in 7 ... the intface is slow so I always end up moving a layer instead of moving the window.

Thanks again. You rock!

Any ideas on the destabilization slider I posted a while ago?

Posted: October 12th, 2006, 6:41 pm
by nab
For the stabilization, you mean your footage starts destabilized and a slider controls the "amount" of stabilization (from 0 to 100) ?
Add a slider to your footage (later..animate it from 0 to 100).
Paste something like this in the anchorPoint property (AE stabilizer has created a lot of anchor point keyframes...represented here by the "end" variable):

Code: Select all

slider = effect("Slider Control")("Slider");
start = [thisComp.width/2,thisComp.height/2];
end = value;

s = clamp(slider/100,0,1);  // between 0 and 1
(1-s)*start + s*end;
is that what you mean ?

That's it again!

Posted: October 13th, 2006, 12:00 pm
by scribling
That destabilization slider works great. That's exactly what I was looking for. You rock to hard it's not even funny!

That's awesome, really.

Thanks a lot.

Another thing this script works great for ...

Posted: August 14th, 2007, 1:33 pm
by scribling
Another thing this script works great for is removing expressions from properties in bunches. It's really nice to be able to select several properties and just hit "unlock" and they expressions are removed in one fell swoop.

Re: Lock property script

Posted: March 25th, 2008, 2:17 am
by Humlan
http://www.nabscripts.com/ seems to have been lost to domain pirates. What a pity...

Re: Lock property script

Posted: March 25th, 2008, 11:49 pm
by nab
Thanks Jonas. I'll try to find a solution in the next few days...

Re: Lock property script

Posted: March 27th, 2008, 10:13 pm
by Disciple
So what would be a good way to disable a time remap effect...These are often tedious to setup, but sometimes you need to look at your layer (in the context of the comp) without any remapping.
Is there a way to "turn it off", as it were?

Alex

Re: Lock property script

Posted: March 28th, 2008, 2:02 am
by Paul Tuersley
Disciple wrote:So what would be a good way to disable a time remap effect...These are often tedious to setup, but sometimes you need to look at your layer (in the context of the comp) without any remapping.
Is there a way to "turn it off", as it were?
Alex
If the layer starts on the first frame, you could use this expression:
time

Otherwise, you could use this:
time - thisLayer.startTime;