Page 1 of 1

Scripts: Project Set Up and applying presets

Posted: December 19th, 2007, 3:26 pm
by dupsta
I would love to open AE7 and run a script that sets my working space, Color depth, and have all my generic folders created and named in my project window: Footage, Precomps, and a few others. Ideally finishes with an import dialog waiting for me.


Thank so much.

Dupsta

AE7 WinXP

Posted: December 28th, 2007, 8:55 am
by byronnash
There is a script floating around that creates a default folder setup. I'll see if I can locate it. I don't think you can trigger the Import Files dialog through scripting(especially not in ae7). I'm not sure about the color depth and I would guess you can't change the workspace in scripting but I've never tried.

Posted: December 28th, 2007, 12:54 pm
by dupsta
Hey thanks.
I might have gotten out a head of myself with this request though.
I have just simply saved out a Default Template AE project with all these pre built. Bit depth etc.
I can open that template, save it out as the shot number and start motoring along. I really like the smart import script also.
THanks again.

DUPsta

Posted: December 28th, 2007, 1:31 pm
by nab
Some hints if you want to try again in the future...

To add a folder:

Code: Select all

app.project.items.addFolder("Comps");
To change the project color depth:

Code: Select all

app.project.bitsPerChannel = 32;
To trigger the Import File dialog:

Code: Select all

app.executeCommand(2003);

Posted: January 2nd, 2008, 3:16 pm
by byronnash
Thanks nab, you've enlightened me. Where is the list of app.executeCommand(); codes?