hi guys,
in after effects there is no way to import a picture sequence and say take only every nth frame.
so my question is when i have a CG rendering done in 25fps and i want only take every nth frame in my 25fps comp so is it possible to do this over a expresssion in the time remapping layer?
i want to have a stop motion look. so no smooth animation. i need the jumps over the same time. i hope u understand me what i need.thx!
ciao,
Jens
Jens Hedrich
CEO - Supervisor
http://www.3deutig.com
Every nth frame
Moderator: byronnash
- lloydalvarez
- Enhancement master
- Posts: 460
- Joined: June 17th, 2004, 9:27 am
- Location: New York City, NY
- Contact:
This should do what you want, add it as an expression to Time Remap.
Code: Select all
nthFrame = 3;
fps = (1.0/thisComp.frameDuration) / nthFrame;
posterizeTime (fps);
value
- lloydalvarez
- Enhancement master
- Posts: 460
- Joined: June 17th, 2004, 9:27 am
- Location: New York City, NY
- Contact:
Hi Stefan,
What do you mean by "show". You want the opacity to go to zero or do you want to compress the sequence by removing the frames.
-Lloyd
What do you mean by "show". You want the opacity to go to zero or do you want to compress the sequence by removing the frames.
-Lloyd
Hi Lloyd,
I'd like to remove frames.
That means that I'd like to exclude a series of n frames every nth frame.
If e.g. I excluded 2 frames every third frame, in the remapped result AE would play only these frames:
1,2, (excluded) ,5,6, (excluded) 9,10,....
Stef
I'd like to remove frames.
That means that I'd like to exclude a series of n frames every nth frame.
If e.g. I excluded 2 frames every third frame, in the remapped result AE would play only these frames:
1,2, (excluded) ,5,6, (excluded) 9,10,....
Stef
-
- Posts: 320
- Joined: June 26th, 2004, 10:01 am
- Location: Folsom, CA
- Contact:
I think it would look like this:
n = 5;
f = timeToFrames();
framesToTime(Math.floor(f/n)*2*n + f%n)
Dan
n = 5;
f = timeToFrames();
framesToTime(Math.floor(f/n)*2*n + f%n)
Dan